Radhakrishnan Memorial Bequest

Radhakrishnan Memorial Bequest

Subject Area: Indian Studies
Chair: Professor David Gellner - david.gellner@anthro.ox.ac.uk
Administrator: Trust funds administrator - trustfunds@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Previous Awards:

  • Grant towards costs for the The Political Economy of Development in India Anniversary Conference
  • Grant towards the costs associated with research on Understanding Life Course Geographies of Young Afghans in India
  • Grant towards University fees
  • Maintenance costs 


§ 292. Radhakrishnan Memorial Bequest

1. The University accepts with gratitude the sum of £50,000 from the estate of the late Professor Sir Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan which shall form a fund to be called the Radhakrishnan Memorial Bequest.

2. There shall be a board of management of the bequest composed of the following persons:

(1) the Vice-Chancellor;

(2) Dr S. Gopal during his life-time;

(3) the Spalding Professor of Eastern Religions and Ethics;

(4) the Warden of All Souls;

(5) the Chairman of the Inter-faculty Committee for South Asian Studies.

The board of management shall have power to co-opt up to two additional members for periods of five years.

3. There shall be an electoral board, comprising:

(1) the Vice-Chancellor;

(2), (3) two members of the board of management appointed by the board;

(4) Dr S. Gopal during his life-time, and thereafter a third member of the board of management appointed by the board.

4. The electoral board shall at least in every other year elect a scholar, with a preference for scholars from outside Oxford, to visit the University either in Michaelmas or Hilary or Trinity Term (but not in more than one) to give a series of lectures in some field of Indian Studies.

5. The lecturer shall be known as the Radhakrishnan Memorial Lecturer.

6. The board of management shall fix the amounts of the lecturer’s emoluments and expenses, which shall be paid from the income of the Radhakrishnan Memorial Bequest.

7. Any income not used to pay the emoluments and expenses of the Radhakrishnan Memorial Lecturer may at the discretion of the board of management be

(a) carried forward for use in a subsequent year;

(b) applied to assist students who are citizens of the Republic of India and who are studying, or wish to study, in Oxford;

(c) applied in any other way which the board shall think conducive to the promotion of Indian Studies in the University of Oxford.

Standing Order

Radhakrishnan Memorial Bequest

The board of management (all ex officio) shall administer the fund in accordance with Statutes, 2000, Ch.IX. Sect. I, p. 711-712. Any surplus income remaining in the funds shall not be subject to a specific spending limit, although the expenditure shall be reported to the Faculty Board from time to time.

The Committee considers applications to the Fund at the end of each term of the academic year. Applications must therefore be received by noon on Monday of Seventh Week of the term in which you would like your application to be considered. Applications received after that deadline will be considered in the following term.

Committee Members

  • Professor David Gellner
  • Dr Faisal Devji
  • Professor Diwakar Acharya 
  • Dr James Benson
  • Dr Nandini Gooptu
  • Professor Rosalind O'Hanlon
OS No. 25 SOF B1431 Index BEQ/160


Fund Applications


To apply, please fill out the application form and return it to the Chair of the relevant Trust Fund. It is always advisable to contact the Chair or trustfunds@orinst.ox.ac.uk, should you have any queries regarding your application to any of the Trust Funds listed on the Faculty Website.